

Kolkata

Bazette

Extraordinary Published by Authority

ASADHA 7]

TUESDAY, JUNE 28, 2022

[SAKA 1944

PART I-Orders and Notifications by the Governor of West Bengal, the High Court, Government Treasury, etc.

GOVERNMENT OF WEST BENGAL

Irrigation & Waterways Department Jalasampad Bhawan, Salt Lake - 700 091

NOTIFICATION

No. 03-W/2022-2023

Dated, 27th June, 2022

With a view to bring an uniform law and administrative structure in the country for ensuring dam safety, the Dam Safety Act, 2021 has been introduced for surveillance, inspection, operation and maintenance of all specified dams in the country to ensure their safe functioning.

- The provisions of this Act demands for creation of National Committee on Dam Safety (NCDS), National Dam Safety Authority (NDSA), State Committee on Dam Safety (SCDS) and State Dam Safety Organisation (SDSO) for empowering the dam safety institutional set ups in both the Centre and States.
- 3. In exercise of the powers conferred by Chapter IV sub-section (1) of section 11 of Dam Safety Act, 2021 (No.41 of 2021), the Government of West Bengal hereby constitutes the State Committee on Dam Safety (SCDS) for the State of West Bengal with the composition as stated hereunder: -

(i)	The Secretary Irrigation & Waterways Department	-	Chairperson
	Government of West Bengal		Mambar
(ii)	The Chief Engineer (South West) Irrigation & Waterways Directorate Government of West Bengal	_	Member
(iii)	The Chief Engineer (West) Irrigation & Waterways Directorate Government of West Bengal		Member

(iv) The Chief Engineer () Irrigation & Waterwa Government of West)	ys Directorate	_	Member
	Mechanical & Electrical) ys Directorate	-	Member
 (vi) The Chief Engineer, F West Bengal State Ele Company Limited (W 	PSPD Distribution	-	Member
(vii) The Chief Engineer, I Department of Water Government of Jhark	Deoghar Resources	. –	Member
(viii) The Director, Instrum Central Water Comm	nentation	-	Member
-	Hydro Engineering & Technology Division thority	-	Member
(x) Professor, Departmen from Indian Institute	t of Civil Engineering of Technology, Kharagpur	_	Member
(xi) Prof M. K. Jain, Dep from Indian Institute	artment of Hydrology of Technology, Roorkee	-	Member
(xii) The Chief Engineer (Irrigation & Waterwa Government of West	ys Directorate	-	Member Secretary

4. The State Committee on Dam Safety shall discharge such functions as specified in the Third Schedule of Dam Safety Act 2021 as may be necessary to prevent dam failure related disasters under this Act as per guidelines, standards and other directions on dam safety issued by the Authority.

- 5. The State Committee on Dam Safety, in discharge of its functions, shall be assisted by such sub-committees as it may consider necessary, and the Secretarial assistance to State Committee on Dam Safety as well as its subcommittees shall be provided by the State Dam Safety Organisation.
- 6. The State Committee on Dam Safety shall meet at such times and places and shall observe such rules of procedure in regard to the transaction of business at its meeting as may be prescribed by the State Government: provided that the State Committee on Dam Safety shall meet twice in a year and one meeting shall be held before the onset of the monsoon season.
- 7. The Chief Engineer (Design & Research), Irrigation & Waterways Directorate, Government of West Bengal, shall act as Member Secretary of the State Committee on Dam Safety and shall arrange meeting with the instruction of the Chairman of the State Committee on Dam Safety as per the provisions as laid down in the Dam Safety Act, 2021.
- The State Committee on Dam Safety may invite the representative of the owner of any specified dam and such other experts in Dam Safety as it may consider appropriate, for the discharge of its functions.
- 9. The expenditure incurred on the meetings of the State Committee on Dam Safety shall be in the manner as may be
- prescribed by the State Government.

- 10. The specialist members and other expert invitees who attend the meetings of the State Committee on Dam Safety or its sub-committees shall be paid such fees and allowances as may be prescribed by the State Government for attending meetings.
- 11. The above composition of State Committee on Dam Safety shall be in force for three years from the date of issue of this Notification, and thereafter the committee shall be re-constituted for every three year thereafter.
- 12. The State Committee on Dam Safety (SCDS) shall follow the provisions as laid down in the Dam Safety Act, 2021.
- 13. A list of Specified Dams, which comes under ambit of the State Committee on Dam Safety, is tabulated in Annexure to this Notification.

Enclo: List of Specified Dams

By Order of the Governor,

PRABHAT KUMAR MISHRA Principal Secretary to the Government of West Bengal

ANNEXURE (Enclosure to Notification No.03-W/2022-2023 dated 27th June, 2022) <u>A. List of specified Dams under Irrigation & Waterways Department, Govt. of West Bengal</u>

SI. No.	Name of Dam	Dam Type	River	Location	District
1	MASSANJORE	Masonry	Mayurakshi	Massanjore	Dumka
2	KANGSABATI KUMARI	Earthfill Embankment	Kangsabati & Kumari	Mukutmonipur	Bankura
3	HINGLOW	Earthfill Embankment	Hinglow	Khairasole	Birbhum
4	NACHAN	Earthfill Embankment	Nachan Kandar	Faridpur	Paschim Bardhaman
5	BARAMANDIRA	Earthfill Embankment	Baramandira	Kanskuli	Paschim Bardhaman
6	MALIARAJORE	Earthfill Embankment	Maliarajore	Gangajalghati	Bankura
7	PARGA	Earthfill Embankment	Parga	Jhaldah	Purulia
8	RUPAI	Earthfill Embankment	Rupai	Kuki	Purulia
9	DANGRA	Earthfill Embankment	Dungrajhore	Kashipur	Purulia
10	SAHARAJORE	Earthfill Embankment	Saharajore	Muruguma	Purulia
11	GOLAMARJORE	Earthfill Embankment	Golamarajore	Adra	Purulia
12	KUMARI	Earthfill Embankment	Kumari	Balarampur	Purulia
13	LIPANIA	Earthfill Embankment	Lipaniajore	Kashipur	Purulia
14	SALI	Earthfill Embankment	Sali	Barjore	Bankura
15	TATKO	Earthfill Embankment	Tatko	Bandwan	Purulia
16	TARAGONIA	Earthfill Embankment	Taragoniajore	Para	Purulia
17	KARRIOR	Earthfill Embankment	Karrior	Jhaldah	Purulia
18	DIMU	Earthfill Embånkment	Dimu	Jhaldah	Purulia
19	KHAIRABERA	Earthfill Embankment	Khairabera	Bagmundi	Purulia
20	MOUTOREJORE	Earthfill Embankment	Moutorejore	Raghunathpur	Purulia
21	BEKO	Earthfill Embankment	Beko	Kashipur	Purulia
22	TURGA	Earthfill Embankment	Turga	Bagmundi	Purulia
23	BARABHUM	Earthfill Embankment	Kerro	Barabazar	Purulia
24	RAMCHANDRAPUR	Earthfill Embankment	Machkandajore	Berakural	Purulia
25	BANDHU EXTENSION	Earthfill Embankment	Bandhu	Alangidanga	Purulia
26	FUTIARY	Earthfill Embankment	Futiary	Bagdisha	Purulia
27	HANUMATA	Earthfill Embankment	Hanumata	Balarampur	Purulia
28	PATLOI	Earthfill Embankment	Patloi	Kushtuka	Purulia

B. List of specified Dams under Power Department, Govt. of West Bengal

SI. No.	Name of Dam	Dam Type	River	Location	District
1	PURULIA PUMP STORAGE PROJECT	Rockfill	Keshtobazar Nala	Keshtobazar	Purulia
2	BINDU BARRAGE	Masonry	Jaldhaka	Bindu	Kalimpong

Published by Irrigation & Waterways Department, West Bengal and printed at Saraswaty Press Ltd. (Government of West Bengal Enterprise), Kolkata 700 056.